APPROVEDCHAPTERMAY 14, 2019103BY GOVERNORPUBLIC LAW

## **STATE OF MAINE**

## IN THE YEAR OF OUR LORD

### **TWO THOUSAND NINETEEN**

## H.P. 540 - L.D. 735

# An Act To Create a Seat for a Representative of the Wabanaki Tribal Governments on the Board of Trustees of the Maine Criminal Justice Academy

#### Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:

Sec. 1. 25 MRSA §2802, as amended by PL 2013, c. 147, §7, is further amended to read:

#### §2802. Board of trustees

There is created a board of trustees for the academy consisting of 47 18 members as follows: the Commissioner of Public Safety, ex officio, the Attorney General, ex officio, the Game Warden Colonel in the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife, ex officio, the Commissioner of Corrections, ex officio, and the Chief of the State Police, ex officio, and the following to be appointed by the Governor: a county sheriff, a chief of a municipal police department, 2 officers of municipal police departments who are not police chiefs, an educator who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, a criminal prosecutor from one of the offices of the District Attorney, a representative of a federal law enforcement agency, 3 citizens each of whom is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency, a municipal official who is not and has never been a sworn member of a law enforcement agency and, one nonsupervisory corrections officer representing a state or county correctional facility and one person knowledgeable about public safety who has been recommended to the Governor by the Wabanaki tribal governments of the Aroostook Band of Micmacs, the Houlton Band of Maliseet Indians, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Motahkmikuk, the Passamaquoddy Tribe at Sipavik and the Penobscot Nation. The member appointed by the Governor based on the recommendation of the Wabanaki tribal governments must be recommended by the tribal governments by a process determined by those governments that provides for the board membership to rotate among the tribal governments.

A designee of an ex officio member is a member of the board only during the term of office of the ex officio member who designated the designee. All of the other members of the board serve for a term of 3 years, except that the member appointed by the Governor

<u>based on the recommendation of the Wabanaki tribal governments serves for a term of 2 years</u>. A trustee holds office for the term for which the trustee is appointed or until the trustee's successor had has been appointed and qualified. Members of the board are entitled to compensation in accordance with Title 5, chapter 379. Any vacancy on the board of trustees must be filled in the same manner as the original appointment, but for the unexpired term.