

SEN. NATHAN LIBBY, SENATE CHAIR REP. GENEVIEVE MCDONALD, HOUSE CHAIR

MEMBERS:

SEN. LISA KEIM SEN. DONNA BAILEY SEN. RICHARD BENNETT SEN. SUSAN DESCHAMBAULT SEN. JEFFREY TIMBERLAKE REP. H. SAWIN MILLETT, JR. REP. AMY ARATA REP. MARK BLIER REP. MARGARET O'NEIL REP. HOLLY STOVER

## MAINE STATE LEGISLATURE GOVERNMENT OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

September 15, 2021

Christopher Roney, General Council Finance Authority of Maine 5 Community Dr, Augusta, Maine

Dear Mr. Roney:

At its September 8, 2021 meeting. the Government Oversight Committee received public comment and conducted a work session on the OPEGA report on the evaluation of the Maine Seed Capital Tax Credit. During the work session, the GOC voted to:

- 1. Request that FAME follow-up and provide the GOC committee with an action plan to address the Recommended Management Action described in the OPEGA report on Pages 28-29 of the OPEGA report related to: (a) data collection, (b) data analysis and (c) data reporting;
- 2. Invite FAME to provide comment on defining goals and what success looks like in terms of program outcomes, as described under Recommended Legislative Actions on Page 25-27 of the OPEGA report, to provide background to assist the Legislature in future policy discussions; and
- 3. Request FAME follow-up on the requests for data and information made by Senator Bennett during the Public Comment period; and
- 4. Request that FAME report back on these items at the November 10, 2021 meeting.

We are writing to communicate these requests and request your presence at the November 10, 2021 meeting of the GOC to report back to the committee and answer questions. To the extent that FAME can provide written responses to items 1-3 above by November 2 for distribution to GOC members in advance of the meeting, that is greatly appreciated. Please send any materials to our GOC Committee Clerk, Sabrina Carey, at goc@legislature.maine.gov.

Thank you for your attention to these important issues.

Sincerely,

Mate filling

Nathan L. Libby Senate Chair

Generrove Mc Doreld

Genevieve McDonald House Chair

cc: Members, Government Oversight Committee Members, Joint Standing Committee on Taxation Members, Joint Standing Committee on Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement & Business
William Norbert, Finance Authority of Maine Julie Jones, Office of Fiscal and Program Review Rachel Olson, Office of Policy and Legal Analysis
Lucia Nixon, Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability Ariel Ricci, Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability