

## **125th MAINE LEGISLATURE**

## FIRST SPECIAL SESSION-2011

**Legislative Document** 

No. 1590

H.P. 1195

House of Representatives, September 26, 2011

An Act To Reapportion the Congressional Districts of the State

(EMERGENCY)

Submitted by the Commission to Reapportion Maine's Congressional Districts pursuant to Joint Order 2011, H.P. 1186.

Heath & Print

HEATHER J.R. PRIEST Clerk

Presented by Representative FOSSEL of Alna.

- 1 **Emergency preamble. Whereas,** acts and resolves of the Legislature do not 2 become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and
- Whereas, current law provides for the reapportionment of Maine's congressional
   districts in 2013; and
- 5 **Whereas,** the United States District Court has ruled that Maine may not wait until 6 2013 to redraw its 2 congressional districts to reflect population shifts, but must instead 7 redraw the districts in time for the congressional election in 2012; and
- 8 **Whereas,** in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within 9 the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as 10 immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, 11 therefore,
- 12 Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
- Sec. 1. 21-A MRSA §1205, sub-§§1 and 2, as enacted by PL 1993, c. 628, §2,
  are repealed and the following enacted in their place:

15 1. First District. The First District consists of the counties of Androscoggin,
 Cumberland, Oxford and York and the following municipalities and areas within Franklin
 County: Avon, Carthage, Chesterville, Farmington, Jay, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy
 River Plantation, Township 6 North of Weld, Township D, Township E, Weld and
 Wilton.

20 2. Second District. The Second District consists of the counties of Aroostook, 21 Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, 22 Waldo and Washington and the following municipalities and areas within Franklin County: Alder Stream Township, Beattie Township, Carrabasset Valley, Chain of Ponds 23 Township, Coburn Gore, Coplin Plantation, Dallas Plantation, Davis Township, Eustis, 24 Freeman Township, Gorham Gore, Industry, Jim Pond Township, Kibby Township, 25 26 Kingfield, Lang Township, Lowelltown Township, Madrid Township, Massachusetts 27 Gore, Merrill Strip Township, Mt. Abram Township, New Sharon, New Vineyard, Perkins Township, Phillips, Rangeley, Redington Township, Salem Township, Seven 28 29 Ponds Township, Skinner Township, Stetsontown Township, Strong, Temple, Tim Pond Township, Washington Township and Wyman Township. 30

- Sec. 2. Congressional district reapportionment. Notwithstanding any
   provision to the contrary in the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 21-A, section 1206,
   subsection 1, enactment of this Act reapportions the congressional districts of the State.
- 34 **Emergency clause.** In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this 35 legislation takes effect when approved.

## **SUMMARY**

2 This bill is the minority report of the Commission to Reapportion Maine's 3 Congressional Districts.

1

4 Under this bill, the First District consists of the counties of Androscoggin, 5 Cumberland, Oxford and York and the following municipalities and areas within Franklin County: Avon, Carthage, Chesterville, Farmington, Jay, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy 6 River Plantation, Township 6 North of Weld, Township D, Township E, Weld and 7 8 Wilton. The Second District consists of the counties of Aroostook, Hancock, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo and Washington 9 10 and the following municipalities and areas within Franklin County: Alder Stream Township, Beattie Township, Carrabasset Valley, Chain of Ponds Township, Coburn 11 Gore, Coplin Plantation, Dallas Plantation, Davis Township, Eustis, Freeman Township, 12 Gorham Gore, Industry, Jim Pond Township, Kibby Township, Kingfield, Lang 13 Township, Lowelltown Township, Madrid Township, Massachusetts Gore, Merrill Strip 14 15 Township, Mt. Abram Township, New Sharon, New Vineyard, Perkins Township, Phillips, Rangeley, Redington Township, Salem Township, Seven Ponds Township, 16 Skinner Township, Stetsontown Township, Strong, Temple, Tim Pond Township, 17 18 Washington Township and Wyman Township.