1	L.D. 940
2	Date: (Filing No. H- )
3	STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT
4	Reproduced and distributed under the direction of the Clerk of the House.
5	STATE OF MAINE
6	HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES
7	129TH LEGISLATURE
8	FIRST REGULAR SESSION
9 10	COMMITTEE AMENDMENT " " to H.P. 695, L.D. 940, Bill, "An Act To Increase the Number of Franklin County Commissioners"
11 12	Amend the bill by striking out everything after the enacting clause and inserting the following:
13 14	'Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §66-B, sub-§4, as enacted by PL 2013, c. 270, Pt. C, §2, is repealed.
15	Sec. 2. 30-A MRSA §66-B, sub-§4-A is enacted to read:
16 17	<b>4-A.</b> Creation of Franklin County Commissioner Districts. Franklin County is divided into the following districts.
18 19 20	A. Until the first election held after the 2021 redistricting conducted in accordance with the Constitution of Maine, Article IX, Section 25, Franklin County is divided into 3 districts.
21 22 23 24	(1) Commissioner District Number 1, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Carthage, Jay, South Franklin, Temple and Wilton. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2020 and then in 2022.
25 26 27	(2) Commissioner District Number 2, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions of Chesterville, Farmington and New Sharon. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2020 and then in 2022.
28 29 30 31 32 33	(3) Commissioner District Number 3, in the County of Franklin, consists of the minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Avon, Carrabassett Valley, Coplin, Dallas, East Central Franklin, Eustis, Industry, Kingfield, New Vineyard, North Franklin, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River, Strong, Weld, West Central Franklin and Wyman Township. The term of office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2020 and then in 2022.

1	B. For purposes of the reapportionment and redistricting conducted in accordance
2	with the Constitution of Maine, Article IX, Section 25, Franklin County is divided
3	into 5 districts. The redistricting must reflect 5 commissioner districts for Franklin
4	County and in addition must align as closely as practicable with the following:
5	(1) Commissioner District Number 1, in the County of Franklin, consists of the
6	minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Temple, Wilton and the
7	portion of Farmington located on the west side of the Sandy River. The term of
8	office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years
9	thereafter.
10	(2) Commissioner District Number 2, in the County of Franklin, consists of the
11	portion of Farmington located on the east side of the Sandy River. The term of
12	office of the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years
13	thereafter.
14	(3) Commissioner District Number 3, in the County of Franklin, consists of the
15	minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Avon, Carthage, Coplin,
16	Eustis, North Franklin, Phillips, Rangeley, Rangeley Plantation, Sandy River,
17	South Franklin, Strong, Weld and West Central Franklin. The term of office of
18	the commissioner from this district expires in 2024 and every 4 years thereafter.
19	(4) Commissioner District Number 4, in the County of Franklin, consists of the
20	minor civil divisions and unorganized territories of Carrabassett Valley, Dallas,
21	East Central Franklin, Industry, Kingfield, New Sharon, New Vineyard and
22	Wyman Township. The term of office of the commissioner from this district
23	expires in 2026 and every 4 years thereafter.
24	(5) Commissioner District Number 5, in the County of Franklin, consists of the
25	minor civil divisions of Chesterville and Jay. The term of office of the
26	commissioner from this district expires in 2026 and every 4 years thereafter.
27	Sec. 3. Referendum; effective date. This Act takes effect 90 days after its
28	approval only for the purpose of permitting its submission by the county commissioners
29	of Franklin to the legal voters of the county by ballot at the next general election to be
30	held in November. The method of voting and the conduct of the referendum are
31	governed by the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 21-A, and the county commissioners or
32	county administrators shall perform the duties of the Secretary of State prescribed by
33	Title 21-A in the same manner as the county commissioners are required to do in the case
34	of a county bond referendum election held pursuant to Title 30-A, section 938. The
35	subject matter of this Act must be reduced to the following question:
36	"Do you favor increasing the number of Franklin County commissioner
37	districts from 3 to 5 and staggering the terms of the 5 county
38	commissioners following redistricting conducted pursuant to the Maine
39	Constitution in 2021?"
40	The voters shall indicate their opinion on this question by a cross or check mark placed
41	against the word "Yes" or "No." Before becoming effective, this Act must be approved

by a majority of the legal voters casting ballots at the general election, and the total

number of votes cast for and against the acceptance of this Act at the election must equal

42

43

11

12

13

14

15

16

10	SUMMARY
8 9	Amend the bill by relettering or renumbering any nonconsecutive Part letter or section number to read consecutively.
6 7	This Act takes effect for all purposes upon approval of the referendum held in accordance with this section.'
3 4 5	The result of a referendum must be declared by the county commissioners or county administrators and due certificate filed with the Secretary of State within 10 days after the date of the election.
1 2	or exceed 50% of the total number of votes cast in the county for Governor at the last gubernatorial election.

This amendment requires that, upon approval by the voters of Franklin County at referendum held in November 2020, when the redistricting of the county commissioner districts is done in 2021 pursuant to the Constitution of Maine, Franklin County must be divided into 5 county commissioner districts. This amendment requires that the reapportionment for each of the new 5 districts reflect, as closely as practicable, the specified geographical composition of each district.