

126th MAINE LEGISLATURE

SECOND REGULAR SESSION-2014

Legislative Document

No. 1753

H.P. 1258

House of Representatives, January 28, 2014

An Act To Redistrict the Knox County Budget Committee Districts

(EMERGENCY)

Reported by Representative GRAHAM of North Yarmouth for the Secretary of State pursuant to the Maine Revised Statutes, Title 30-A, section 757, subsection 1.

Reference to the Committee on State and Local Government suggested and ordered printed pursuant to Joint Rule 218.

Millicent M. Macfarland MILLICENT M. MacFARLAND Clerk

2	Emergency preamble. Whereas, acts and resolves of the Legislature do not become effective until 90 days after adjournment unless enacted as emergencies; and
3 4	Whereas, current law requires the county commissioners of Knox County to prepare a redistricting plan for county budget committee seats; and
5 6	Whereas, this plan must be implemented by the primary election, which may occur before the expiration of the 90-day period; and
7 8 9 10	Whereas, in the judgment of the Legislature, these facts create an emergency within the meaning of the Constitution of Maine and require the following legislation as immediately necessary for the preservation of the public peace, health and safety; now, therefore,
11	Be it enacted by the People of the State of Maine as follows:
12 13	Sec. 1. 30-A MRSA §757, sub-§2, as repealed and replaced by PL 1993, c. 565, §1, is repealed and the following enacted in its place:
14 15	2. Budget committee districts. Budget committee members must be elected from districts as provided in this subsection.
16 17 18	A. District 1 consists of Isle au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, North Haven, St. George and Friendship and elects one member. The initial term for District 1 expires on December 31, 2016.
19 20	B. District 2 consists of South Thomaston, Vinalhaven and Owls Head and elects one member. The initial term for District 2 expires on December 31, 2014.
21 22	C. District 3 consists of Rockland and elects 2 members at large. The initial term for District 3 expires on December 31, 2016.
23 24	<u>D. District 4 consists of Camden and elects one member. The initial term for District 4 expires on December 31, 2014.</u>
25 26	E. District 5 consists of Rockport and Hope and elects one member. The initial term for District 5 expires on December 31, 2016.
27 28	F. District 6 consists of Appleton, Union and Washington and elects one member. The initial term for District 6 expires on December 31, 2014.
29 30	G. District 7 consists of Warren and elects one member. The initial term for District 7 expires on December 31, 2016.
31 32	H. District 8 consists of Thomaston and Cushing and elects one member. The initial term for District 8 expires on December 31, 2014.
33 34	Emergency clause. In view of the emergency cited in the preamble, this legislation takes effect when approved.

1 SUMMARY

This bill implements the redistricting plan for the Knox County budget committee districts as adopted by the Knox County Commissioners.